Coaches Council

Christy Morgan

Head Coach, Field Hockey
James Madison University
2015 WCA Graduate, Class #35


James Madison field hockey is once again led by Christy Morgan, who was rehired as the Dukes’ head coach in January 2014 after spending the previous three seasons (2011-2013) as the associate head coach at Wake Forest.

Morgan, in her first full season season back, led the Dukes to their first Colonial Athletic Association championship game appearance since 2008. Fourth-seeded JMU upset top-seeded No. 18 Northeastern in the CAA Semifinals 3-0 to clinch Morgan’s 150th career victory. The 2014 season also saw JMU ranked for the first time since 2010, appearing at No. 20 twice.

Morgan originally joined the Dukes in 1991, the same year that James Madison field hockey joined the Colonial Athletic Association. Just three seasons later, Morgan led the Dukes to their first-ever national championship when JMU defeated top-ranked North Carolina in penalty strokes for the 1994 NCAA title. She became the first person in NCAA field hockey history to win a national championship as both a coach and a player (Old Dominion – 1982, 1983, 1984).

In her nine previous seasons at JMU, Morgan led JMU to five NCAA tournament appearances (1993-95, ‘97, ‘99), including back-to-back final-four appearances (1994, ‘95). While at the helm, she also led the Dukes to the 1995 CAA championship, a 2-1 victory over her alma mater Old Dominion.

Morgan, the 1993 CAA Coach of the Year and NCAA South Region Coach of the Year, was inducted into the JMU Athletics Hall of Fame in 2004. She left JMU to become the head field hockey coach at Davidson in 2001 before leaving the collegiate coaching ranks for nine years.

As a player, Christy helped lead Old Dominion to three national championships (1982, ‘83, ‘84). She was a three-time All-American at ODU and won the 1984 Honda Award for Field Hockey, awarded to the top player in the nation. She spent eight years on the U.S. National Team (1982-’90), two seasons with the U.S. World Cup Team (1983, ’86) and was a member of the U.S. Olympic Team in 1988.